Day 2 Day

An Explanation

After writing my first post last night I thought I should probably explain why I decided to name the blog Solo Tandem Ride. Well here’s the thing, ever since I was in middle school I have always had a boyfriend. Whether it was just a two week fling or a four year long committed relationship, I would always be jumping from guy to guy. After my breakup with the guy I assumed was “the one” (yeah, I know I’m only 20 but we were young and in love) , I decided that this period in my life would revolve around me.

I am now in a committed relationship with myself. And do you know what? It’s the most stable, trusting, loving relationship I have ever had. In just these few short months I have learned more about myself than I could have ever imagined! I am head over heels in love with myself.

Ha ha sorry okay, back to why I chose this name..

Biking is one of my all time favorite activities to do with friends and loved ones. And back in my sophomore year of high school I got the world’s best Christmas presents. A 1963 Schwinn tandem bicycle. At the time, I was dating my high school sweetheart and this bicycle soon became our lives. Really, we stopped driving our cars and began taking the tandem everywhere. We even took it to prom my junior year high heels, dress, tux, and all! We had it valeted! Life really was an adventure back then, it was good, clean, innocent fun! Needless to say sitting on the back of that bike became my obsession. However, all good things must come to an end and when me and my ex broke up it was also the end of the tandem.

But when one door closes another opens. I am now the proud owner of a beautiful purple bicycle and it’s even got a wicker basket and a bell! Riding my own bike has it’s own perks. I am no longer looking at the sweaty back of the person in front of me as I was on my tandem and best of all I can steer and go where ever I choose. It is a whole new freedom I never got to experience while on the back of that old bicycle. I can explore and see the world around me. Riding by myself and being single may have been the best things that have happened to me.

So here I am. On my solo ride and as a way of commemorating my first post, I went on a nice long bike ride and did all of the things I enjoy.

Image

Image

To start my trip off I went thrifting, one of my favorite things to do, because well I’m just so gosh darn good at it. Even if I don’t end up getting anything it’s still a thrill.

ImageImage

The usual stop at Sarasota Trading Company… too freaking bad the owner is jerk and definitely has a stick or small animal stuck up his butt.

Image

Just walking inside the Selby Library today was the highlight of my day. The smell alone brought back so many memories of my childhood. Oh and hey, I got a library card!! I even checked out a book!

ImageImageImage

Burns Court is the bomb. That’s really all there is to say about that.

Image

Needless to say, today I had the perfect day. Just me, myself, and I.

Standard

One thought on “An Explanation

Leave a Reply

