Day 2 Day

A Spin On The Classics.

Today I got the chance to spend the day with my best friend. She is the kind of person who takes spontaneous road trips to North Carolina, spends her mornings doing flying yoga, and will try anything new if there is a Groupon for it. She is a beach bum, 5-star resort groupie, yoga guru, and most importantly my mom. Yeah, I know, of course I’m her biggest fan, she raised me, but she has done so much more than that. She is the reason I am the outgoing and adventurous person I am today, because well, that’s how she is. Monkey-see, monkey-do.

Anyway, Doo-nees, as we like to call her, is as curious as a kitten and a total social butterfly, so when we planned on spending the day together I knew I had an adventure in store. After contemplating all of our options for the day, I was surprised when we both decided on the plain old lunch and a movie. However, we did put a spin on that classic date night activity and went to lunch at the quirky Nancy’s BBQ, which is filled to capacity with a quite unusual crowd of hipsters and business professionals. Among the masses were me and my teeny tiny mom on a picnic table, sharing a juicy pulled pork sandwich and mac and cheese off of a large metal tray, it was a dream. After waddling out of Nancy’s, we headed over to Burns Court Cinema, a quaint theatre that only plays films from Sundance and low budget indies. When faced with our two options, we felt gutsy and went with a Danish foreign film. Although we were reading subtitles throughout the entire 2 hour film, and the two of us were still gasping, clenching our arm rests, and on the edge our seat the whole time, I think it was a good choice!

It’s days like today that make me thankful to have had the childhood I did. Because of my babe of a mom, I have the appreciation for all things adventure. Whether it’s doing yoga on a paddle board or going to a foreign film instead of a box office hit, she seems to make things a little more exciting. Here are just a few shots from today’s afternoon mommy daughter date.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Isn’t she a babe?!

Image

Image

Image

Standard

One thought on “A Spin On The Classics.

Leave a Reply

