Day 2 Day

Time Out

Today marks the beginning of the third week of the semester. Yes, that doesn’t seem like much time, however the amount of homework, the start of a new job, and of course, recruitment events that have been jam packed into those two short weeks have transformed me into a psychotic and frantic lunatic.

So here I am. Finally taking a much-deserved break from the nonstop hectic world around me to just sit and do what I love. Eat a bowl of carb filled, butter coated pasta and write and reminisce about the blessed life I have.

This whole college thing is hard. It’s stressful. It’s mentally challenging. It’s emotionally exhausting. Us college folks spend our lives AT school. There really is no getting away from it. There constantly seems to be a quiz to take, discussion post to write, or novel to read. It is so easy to get wrapped up in the pages of a textbook or caught up in the realization that you might not be the hottest girl at the party or the daily struggle of asking your parents for money to buy ramen noodles (I am so gosh darn broke). When I know I’m getting too overly freaked out on the roller coaster that is college life, I try and take a step back and do what I do best. I explore.

In the first week of school alone I had to read a play, start a book, take two in-class quizzes, write a blog post, complete two homework assignments, and somehow I managed to have an interview and get a job. It was one stress filled week and with the start of sorority recruitment that upcoming Sunday, it seemed that Saturday was my only day to really take a breather. That morning I gathered up some of my closest and dearest friends and we ventured to Downtown Tampa.

Finally, we were out of congested, grimy, Temple Terrace and were now wandering the hip cobblestone streets surrounded by the historic buildings and gleaming skyscrapers of downtown. We made brunch reservations at the ever-trendy Oxford Exchange and to say I’m obsessed with this place would be a huge understatement. I’m not sure if it’s the old world London architecture, eclectic assortment of novels and home goods, smell of world renowned Buddy Brew Coffee, amazing lighting, or the kitschy yet classic staff that has me wishing to spend the entire day perched on a barstool drinking tea and reading a Kinfolk magazine. Really, if I could live there, oh ho ho, I would. For brunch I sipped on some sort of mango tea from their extensive tea list and engorged myself with a chicken burger and some sweet potato fries. Oh my god. But really, this is a temple of culinary genius. Not only was I lucky enough to have a belly full of decadent food, but an afternoon full of jokes, meaningful conversation, and genuine love. The time I spent with my beautiful, intelligent, and hilarious sisters Anna, Kourtney, Kasey, and Kelsey is exactly how I would love to spend every single day. I mean these girls are pretty freaking hilarious. If we had a film crew follow us around for the day, I know we would literally conquer the world.

Okay, enough about my amazing day. If you are reading this and are on the verge of pulling out your hair or stabbing pencils in your eyes at the thought of all the studying and stress this semester has in store, I want you to take a step back and pick an afternoon to just relax and do something you have never experienced before. Treat yourself to a fancy lunch with some entertaining friends or you know what? If you can’t swing that, just sit outside! When classes take up your day and the library is your idea of “going out” on a school night you really just need to sit outside in the sun with the chirping birds for a little. It is beautiful in Florida around 6pm lately, so just take a breath and observe the world around you.

Yes, I’m done with my extensive rant. Here are some pictures from the pristine Oxford Exchange of my friends, who just happen to be world-class models.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Standard

2 thoughts on “Time Out

Leave a Reply

