Day 2 Day

Yolo?

Okay, so I made this blog to keep track of everything that goes on in my life, which obviously I have been doing a horrendous job at lately. However, with this little lull in school work this week in the semester I’m getting back into this whole “writing for fun” thing.

 

With junior year in full gear, I have been overloaded with school work I would like to compare to be as demanding and on par to taking care of a child with ADHD. Seriously, I don’t have the time or energy to eat meals other than the occasional cheese stick, put on enough makeup to look like a living human being, or even bathe for that matter. Most of my time is spent on the 4th floor of Club Lib (no that’s not the new college scene, it’s the USF library), shuffling around campus like a terrifying zombie, or blankly staring at my professors.

 

God… college is hard. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE COLLEGE, but dang.

 

In order to keep sane you have to give yourself a break once in a while and this past week I did just that!

 

So, 21st birthdays in college are a huge effing deal. You basically get a whole week dedicated to you and all of your awesome-ness. This past week I went out for my dear friend Kelsey’s 21st, we started with dinner then we went out to a bar to help her complete her 21st Sign! It’s pretty much a college tradition that your friends all get together to help you celebrate and in doing so they make you the sought after sign. On your sign contains 21 tasks you must complete (well must ATTEMPT to complete) by the end of the night. It’s kind of a right of passage you could say. Anyway, the tasks include things such as but are not limited to:

  • ‘Take a ski shot’
  • ‘Collect 21 dollars’
  • ‘Make a ginger buy you a Red Headed Slut’
  • ‘Make the bar sing you Happy Birthday’
  • ‘Get a piggyback ride around the bar’
  • ‘Shot gun a beer’
  • ‘Find a condom’
  • ‘Eat drunk Taco Bell’
  • ‘Get 21 kisses’
  • ‘Have the best night you’ll never remember, with the friends you’ll never forget’
  • Etc.

 

Kelsey, being the fun-loving, easy-going yet fierce young lady she is, took the challenge quite seriously and completed her sign. Between all of her friends and loved ones there to help her celebrate and the copious amount of alcohol, Kelsey had quite the night! Not to say I didn’t have an adventure of my own…

 

As Kelsey finished her sign and the bar started to clear up my friend Jordan and I decided we weren’t quite ready to call it a night. We got a ride home with our friend and the photographer that night, Kevin, but as we got hopped in the truck we begged him to take us on an adventure. It was 2:30am may I remind you and there aren’t a whole lot of “adventures” available to a couple of young adults in Tampa, Florida at that hour especially on a Tuesday night. We sat around for a few minutes and decided why not head to the beach?! The nice cold sand in our toes, waves crashing on the shore, bright stars above us, it would be the perfect end to our evening and quite frankly it was our only option, even if it was an hour away. I mean, you are only in college once so why not?

 

To the beach we went! We sped out of the bar parking lot and headed in the direction we assumed the beach to be. After driving around 30 minutes we came across this long bridge, naturally we opened up the windows and put the petal to the metal! It was like it came right out of a movie, the wind in our hair, the blaring music, and the good company; nothing could bring us down.

 

And then we saw the red and blue flashing lights behind us.

 

Kevin quickly pulled to the side of the bridge and the police car followed. In our desperation for adventure and under the peer pressure of Jordan and me, our dear friend was driving a hefty 24 miles over the speed limit. We sat there in silence and awe as the cop came up to the window of the truck and after a quick description of the charge he handed Kevin a $256 speeding ticket. SERIOUSLY. Jordan and I reached into our wallets and threw all of the cash we could find, which unfortunately was a mere $18 in crumpled up dollar bills. It was tragic, but our friend urged us that he was still ready for an adventure and we had to go to the beach now! So, I plugged “the beach” into the map app of my phone and we were off once again (going the speed limit this time).

 

We followed the directions and drove about another half an hour, when Siri finally announced, “You have arrive”. We were confused. It seemed as though we were in a residential neighborhood and there was absolutely no beach in sight. The three of us drove around a few different streets but all we saw were mansions upon mansions. I took another look at my map and made Kevin drive towards the blue on my iPhone. I made him pull off on the side of the road and I jumped out of the car in order to properly assess the situation. I then proceeded to run through the strange yards, floodlights going off all around me, because who knows; the beach could have been located behind these huge mansions.  Much to our dismay, the glimmering coastline was nowhere to be found and we were just hoodlums trolling around a foreign neighborhood at 4 in the morning. It was disappointing, depressing, and quite late, so we slouched back into our seats and headed home. Yeah, we laughed about the failure of a night on the way home, but as if our night couldn’t get any more sad, right as Kevin dropped Jordan and I back off at the DG house, his gaslight went on.

 

I’m not quite sure how to end this story, because now looking back I’m a little sad myself. I FEEL SO BAD! But ha ha I mean yolo… right?

 

Oh well. Kelsey I hope you had a night you’ll never remember with your friends you’ll never forget. And here are some pictures Kevin (ironically) and I took before our whole adventure.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

And uh.. thanks Kevin.

Standard

Leave a Reply

